Cosmic Wanderings, Grasshoppers, and God’s Glory

I never get tired of the Bible jerking me out of small thinking. That is, I am awed time after time as my earth-bound, frail thoughts get sucked up into cosmic levels of thinking about God as I read Scripture. When I consider the fact that the ONLY reason we know anything at all about God is that He condescended Himself to tell us, I am practically staggered.

For example, for a little while now I have been completely caught up by the view of God from the scenic lookout that is Isaiah 46. I just can’t seem to leave it. The perspective that I get of God as I strain to lean my mind over the majestical guardrails of God’s own words in this text is so stunning that I become completely enraptured at even a glance.

Before I share the passage though, here is a question. Have you ever allowed your mind to wander into the unfathomable depths of the metaphysical reality of THE Creator communicating Himself to His creation? Meaning, do you ever attempt to think big thoughts about GOD and how you know about GOD?

Just so we have the right perspective, read this text from a few chapters earlier to get yourself in the right frame of mind about our own position in this universe.

Do you not know? Do you not hear?
Has it not been told you from the beginning?
Have you not understood from the foundations of the earth?
It is he who sits above the circle of the earth,
and its inhabitants are like grasshoppers;
who stretches out the heavens like a curtain,
and spreads them like a tent to dwell in;
who brings princes to nothing,
and makes the rulers of the earth as emptiness. (Isaiah 42:21-23)

We are like grasshoppers. Meaning, this whole thing may just not be about us after all. Could God be the ultimately reality and His glory be the ultimate purpose? Yes. But I digress, here is where I can’t seem to leave.

Remember this and stand firm,
recall it to mind, you transgressors,
remember the former things of old;
for I am God, and there is no other;
I am God, and there is none like me,
declaring the end from the beginning
and from ancient times things not yet done,
saying, ‘My counsel shall stand,
and I will accomplish all my purpose,’
calling a bird of prey from the east,
the man of my counsel from a far country.
I have spoken, and I will bring it to pass;
I have purposed, and I will do it.  (Isaiah 46:8-11)

God is God. There is no other. There is none like Him. HIS counsel and purposes are completely sovereign. He will fulfill HIS decrees. He will fulfill HIS promises. My feelings do not define truth. God defines Truth. His Word is Truth. His Word is sovereign. O how I cling to sovereign Truth! May the weight of God’s glory rest heavily upon your soul.

Posted on 10/12/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

