Shaping My Daughter’s Future Husband

I’ve not met him, but I’ve already influenced him.  As a matter of fact, I have no earthly idea who he is and as far as I know, neither does my daughter; but I have been shaping him for years.  And after seeing firsthand the example I set for him day after day, I hope he’s picked up on a few things that I think are important.  By God’s grace, I have understood for a while that how I love my wife –how I treat her, how I prioritize her, would all have a direct impact on how he understands his role toward my daughter.  It’s pretty simple really.  As long as he’s been paying close attention, and I am confident he has, he has a pretty good idea of the type of man he should be to even consider my daughter’s hand in marriage.  Does he have to be perfect?  Of course not and he knows this because he has seen me mess up hundreds of times.  Hopefully though, he has learned that loving and serving my daughter with honor, dignity, and respect should be at the very top of his “to do” list as he considers marriage.

Confused?  Let’s try it again from a slightly different perspective.

I’ve not met him, but I’ve already influenced her.  As a matter of fact, I have no earthly idea who he is and as far as I know, neither does my daughter; but I have been shaping her idea of him for years.  And after seeing firsthand the example I set for him day after day, I hope she’s picked up on a few things that I think are important.  By God’s grace, I have understood for a while that how I love my wife –how I treat her, how I prioritize her, would all have a direct impact on how my daughter understands her future husband’s role toward her.  It’s pretty simple really.  As long as she’s been paying close attention, and I am confident she has, she has a pretty good idea of the type of man he should be to even consider her hand in marriage.  Does he have to be perfect?  Of course not and she knows this because she has seen me mess up hundreds of times.  Hopefully though, she has learned that loving and serving her with honor, dignity, and respect should be at the very top of his “to do” list as she considers him in marriage.

The fact is that as a father of two daughters, I am constantly teaching them how a husband should treat his wife through how I treat their mother.  They see it and take it all in; and when it comes time for them to start vetting potential suitors, I will have hopefully shaped their expectations of “him” such that they will have a clear idea of what “he” needs to be to make the cut.  And if you are a father with a daughter, you are doing the same thing whether you’ve realized it or not.  (Of course, all of this applies to teaching my son how to be a husband as well.)

My wife will attest to the fact that I get it wrong more times than I get it right, but a couple of months ago I received an inkling of confirmation that I may at least be on the right track when my oldest  daughter asked, “Daddy, before I get married, can I bring him over here for you to teach him how to be a husband?”

I’m already working on him my dear, I’m already working on him.

Posted on 04/23/2013, in Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

